I’m gonna live forever! I’m gonna learn how to fly high!

Sinem Soydar
3 min readDec 14, 2020

--

An old piece from the shelf! I guess it has meant to be shared, so here it is.

As you may know from my last piece, I’d lately turn 40 in the lockdown context. That means, new age “40" is full of questions, wills, awareness; I do not deny it — it is hard to digest. Yet, it is so exciting, energizing; so I think that I have to use this power. I need to do something.

Aha! I know it, I need to write a book! Why not?

One more time, I had come to a resolution before I genuinely feel why I want to do it. This time, I confronted myself: Why on earth Sinem wants to write a book? After a while, the answer was there: I want to live forever!

I’ll come back here. But let me tell you a quick story, then we’ll connect the dots:

FAME

A while ago, I was checking LinkedIn, and I saw dear Donna Elliott’s post. (Donna is a coach, and I’ve met her at an event in Vodafone. She is full of energy with a big smile) Donna was asking a fun question on her post: If you had a theme song that played every time you walked into a room, what would it be? It took only 5 sec to find mine; FAME. Singed by Irene Cara, the beautiful, meaningful, upbeat song came from my childhood, with the tv series Fame!

Remember my name, fame

I’m gonna live forever

I’m gonna learn how to fly high.

I can still clearly remember the moment of being in front of the TV; dancing with the series’ intro, jumping all over the room, felt like a dancer! Obviously, when I was 6 years old, I thought I would be a dancer.

When I got older, dancing was a part of my social life, but it was far from being an occupation.

Years after, in 2004, I was in a marketing training where the audience was asked to tell if they hadn’t got the profession they had, what would they do? Everybody was so decent; one said she would be an MD, the other one said an architect. There was no other profession for me I’d admire before but only being a dancer. Then, it was my turn. I said, “I wanted to be a dancer.” I didn’t be afraid of being ashamed in front of the audience. I shared my dream, my passion, and it felt good. After me, people got encouraged to say they want to be an artist or a chef. I guess I facilitated the audience to feel free.

When we face reality today, of course, I’m not saying that I am giving up everything and trying to be a dancer. But there is still one more question I need to answer myself: “Why did I want to be a dancer?

And I figure out that the reason I want to be a dancer is the same as why I want to write a book. Being recognized, being remembered, putting a smile on people’s faces, and continue to live in their minds. Leaving a meaningful footprint on this world. At least, this is it for me!

THEN HOW?

There is not only one way of doing something. For me, it would be dancing or sharing my thoughts in a book, giving a motivational speech, or doing my job perfectly to be a good role model for the young colleagues. If you know your passion, if you are ready to embrace it, even the method changes, yet the fulfillment will be there. You’ll do how you like, and it’ll feel right!

In my case, I know my theme song, and the dancing was the sign to keep my passion alive! And I’ll follow my passion to achieve what I want: To live forever!

To all inspirational women I’ve ever known.

--

--

Sinem Soydar

Experienced strategist in Marketing, Communication, Transformation. Enthusiast in Business, Agile, Change Management. Mum, Wife, Daughter, Sister, Self Explorer